scraps

One thing I’m learning is to make use of persons, places, and things from other stories of mine that I never finished. For example, for years I handscribed a series of books to be called The Wanderer Chronicles. The series, actually one continuous story, wavered between science-fiction and fantasy. It featured first one person (Paul), then a couple (Paul and Kathy), and finally two couples (Paul and Kathy, Lyn and Rudy), Paul and Kathy traveling the stars (the science-fiction aspect), Lyn and Rudy powers in a male-dominated medieval world (and Lyn the higher power) (the fantasy aspect).

I had it all written out in first version in a maze of notebooks, and it sat in a covered box, gathering silverfish and God knows what else, but it wasn’t getting worked on. I took one look at the first chapters of the first book, and couldn’t believe I had written it, it was so weak and amateurish. Mind you, it had written it more than half a lifetime ago. An attempt to fix it with editing proved fruitless; it was beyond repair. It had to go.

All of it? Was nothing salvageable? I had maps, designed cities, created/named/described people. These I saved, these I took out and put in a folder with information for the story I’m working on now. I’ve started using one of the cities.

How much will I use? Don’t know, but I’ll keep these scraps. They may come in handy; you never know.

Good news on the critiquing front. I had to reinvent myself, but I can get back into the WD critique forum now. Got the first two parts of the last chapter of The Bridge Door posted

About carolyncarceo

cat lover, fantasy writer, library rat, explorer (within limits), kid at heart
This entry was posted in Bridge Door, writing in general. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

